Google Earth Tutorial: Image Overlays

29Jun09

Google has been pushing to get more 3D models into the 3D Buildings layer, particularly representations of bridges.

Their implementation of the buildings can be problematic however, as the satellite imagery on the terrain below remains visible, including the image of the bridge. This is sometimes a problem for tall buildings, but it destroys the illusion of realism for bridges.

I created a bridge for Google Earth (St. Johns bridge in Portland, OR).  It is a part of the 3D Buildings layer, and if you visit the site in Google Earth, this is what you see:

normal

Continue reading this post to see a tutorial on how to solve this.

To me, it’s kind of confusing. When I first showed this bridge to my wife, she’s like “whats with the part underneath?”

What can be done about this?  My solution is to use the Image Overlay feature to cover up the redundant image.  I do this with two parts, a ground overlay, and a shadow. The parts could be combined into one texture, though I like the flexibility of having them separate.

Follow the steps below to create your own image overlays for Google Earth.

Step 1.)
In Google Earth, locate the area you want to overlay. For most bridges, this will be a small stretch of visible bridge over the water. In the example of the St. Johns Bridge I had a large area to cover and chose to break my overlay into 3 parts.

Turn off ‘terrain’, and fit the area completely within your visible screen area. Make sure you are looking straight down, and rotate your view so that the bridge is horizontal.

locate

Step 2.) Press F11 or choose View -> Full Screen. This will maximize the google earth viewport, and provide the highest resolution. You need the area you want to cover fully visible, with a little buffer on each side.

On windows, press the ‘Print Screen’ button to copy your screen to the clipboard, or use a screengrab application.

On Mac, press Command-Shift-3 to make a screengrab. It will save the screenshot to your desktop

Step 3.) Open the image into photoshop or other image editor. On windows, you will need to create a new blank document and ‘Paste’ the previously copied image into the new document.

Crop your image to encompass just your bridge, with a slight border around it. For video card textures, multiples of 2 are used for the dimensions of texture. Google Earth seems to work fine with odd-shaped images, though it’s probably good practice to follow traditional texturing conventions. I recommend 1024×256 as the final dimensions of your overlay. It’s clear enough to look good relatively close up, but small enough to not overtax the computer.

original

Step 4.) Add a new layer, name it ‘Overlay’ and Paint! In photoshop, the most common method is to use the ‘Clone Stamp’ . Grab your source from the original screen grab, then select and paint onto the overlay layer above.

Layers

Use a broad feathered brush to keep a nice blend with the background.

Step 5.) When complete, your bridge should be invisible, and your overlay layer should look like a fuzzy blob. Delete or hide the original screengrab, to leave only the overlay layer on a transparent background. Save this as a 24-bit png file.

overlayoverlayONLY

Step 6.) Insert into Google Earth. Locate your bridge area again, and click the ‘Overlay button’

AddOverlay

Name Your Overlay and click ‘Browse’ to locate your .png file.

NewOverlayProperties

Step 7.) Position your overlay. While the overlay properties window is still open, position your overlay to cover the bridge. When your overlay is positioned correctly, choose ‘OK’ from the overlay window to save your overlay placement.

aligned

Step 8.) Add a shadow overlay, if desired. Because this is a soft generic shadow, the resolution can be very small.

Step 9.) Save your kml/kmz and distribute!

Look at the image below to see the progression:

Compare

To see this all integrated within Google Earth, click the image below. You will need the Google Earth Plugin:

Final

15 Responses to “Google Earth Tutorial: Image Overlays”

  1. wow… I’m very impressed. NIce job!

  2. New knowledge added. Thank You. Hope I can use it and get it as good as you did.

  3. 3 Dwight DeMers

    I used an overlay sometime ago and everything went fine.

    This time I cannot edit – rotate resize etc. the image. I scanned it as botha PDF and a JPG and neither worked. When I right click on the folder, and click on properties, there is no Edit option.

    Please help.

    Dwight DeMers

  4. 4 Dwight DeMers

    Can’t edit – rotate resize overlay.

    Please help

  5. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog
    site? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  6. Greetings I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on
    Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thank
    you for a incredible post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look
    over it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome
    jo.

  7. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one today.

  8. It’s an remarkable post in support of all the online users; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  9. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been running a blog for?

    you made running a blog glance easy. The full look of your site is excellent, as neatly as the content material!

  10. Please note doctors don’t prescribe oral medicines for vaginal infections, it can lead to side-effects. They support USB, HDMI, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, network adapter, 3G and many more than the standard net books on the market. This tablet is more attractive and charming for internet users and enjoy everywhere with your family and friends.

  11. It is in point of fact a great and useful piece
    of info. I’m satisfied that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. I know this site offers quality depending articles or reviews and extra information, is there any other site which presents these information in quality?

  13. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google whilst searching for a similar
    matter, your website got here up, it seems to be great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply changed into aware of your blog via Google, and located that it is really informative.
    I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful should
    you proceed this in future. Numerous other people can be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  14. I’m really loving the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.

    Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  15. A push is on within the Ohio Statehouse to increase alcohol gross sales during major events. Obesity: People who find themselves affected by obesity they have a tendency to have extreme sweating. Emotional state of affairs which is said to mental well being issues similar to-nervousness and anxiousness could cause profuse sweating. Infections: Individuals affected by infections-Pulmonary tuberculosis may cause profuse sweating. I merely started taking Oxy’s 20mg and sitting doing nothing I’m sweating throughout.


Leave a Reply

